Two leaders in forestry recognised for efforts

Rotorua men Peter Clark and Russell Dale both headed for home with some beautiful pieces of woodwork to recognise their outstanding contributions to New Zealand’s forestry industry last month.

The pair – for individual reasons – were each awarded a trophy for their contributions at the NZ Institute of Forestry’s annual Awards dinner in Nelson in July.

Peter received the NZIF Forester of the Year award, which recognises an NZIF member who has made an outstanding contribution to either the forestry profession, or the forestry sector during the last 12 months.

NZIF president David Evison says the award recognises leadership, excellence and personal integrity, particularly where this demonstrates the character and strength of the forestry profession, and it is one of the highest accolades the institute can bestow.

“This award is a fitting recognition of the contribution that Peter has made to the sector over a large number of years,” says David.

Russell, also of Rotorua, was awarded the Kirk Horn and medal.

David says the Kirk Horn Flask is the most historically valuable award in all NZ science – and NZIF awards it every second year, to recognise outstanding contributions in the field of forestry in NZ.

“Russell has proved himself to be an outstanding leader in forest management and in the management of major industry-funded forestry research programmes, over a long and distinguished career,” says David.

“NZIF is delighted to celebrate the achievements and contributions to NZ forestry of Peter and Russell.”

Election of Steve Wilton of Masterton as a Fellow of the NZ Institute of Forestry was also recorded – this special membership status is granted by a vote of members and recognises the eminence of Steve Wilton in the profession of forestry.

And contribution of Trish Fordyce of Auckland to the NZ forestry sector and her long service in the areas of environmental and land use regulation, and application of the Resource Management Act to forestry and wood processing was recognised, by her election as an Honorary Member of NZIF.

“NZIF believes it’s very important to celebrate the significant contributions of members and non-members alike and Steve and Trish are most deserving recipients of these honours,” says David.



There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

We're not running a poll right now. Check back soon!