‘CAP’ for Fonterra candidates

All six candidates standing for election to the Fonterra Board of Directors have undergone the CAP assessment process to provide Fonterra shareholders with more information to help make an informed vote. 

The process to assess the capabilities, experience and qualifications of director candidates, is open to all candidates, but is not compulsory.

The voting period in the Fonterra elections is from Friday, October 30 until 10.30am on Monday, November 23, 2015 with the results being announced later that day.

This year all the candidates, Murray Beach, Greg Maughan, Blue Read, Nicola Shadbolt, Ashley Waugh and John Wilson went through CAP.

The panel, consisting of independent chairman, John Spencer, two members appointed by the Fonterra Board, John Monaghan and Chris Moller, and two appointed by the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council, Duncan Coull and independent Cathy Quinn, interviewed prospective candidates during October.

The results of the panel’s assessment and profiles of the candidates will be sent to Fonterra shareholders with the voting papers on Friday, October 30 and will also be displayed on Farm Source via www.fonterra.com

Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet director candidates and ask questions at the 11 directors’ election candidate roadshow meetings which are scheduled to run from Sunday, November 8 to Friday, November 13, 2015. 

The dates and venues for the North Island Roadshow meetings are: Wednesday November 11, 10.30am TET Multi-Sports Centre, Stratford; 7pm Palmerston North Convention Centre, Palmerston North.

Thursday November 12. 10.30am Novotel Hotel, Tutanekai St, Rotorua; 7pm Mystery Creek Events Centre, Mystery Creek Road, Hamilton.

Friday November 13, 10.30am Forum North Rust Avenue, Whangarei; 7pm Counties Function Centre Manukau Rd Pukekohe.

Fonterra Shareholders’ Council Elections are also underway with councillors required in four wards with candidates as follows: Eastern Bay of Plenty Gerard van Beek and Wilson James. Northern Taranaki Mark Hooper and Kevin Turnbull. Hawke’s Bay Eliot Cooper, David Hands, Andrew Hardie, Ivan Knauf.Tasman / Marlborough Sue Brown, Neil Sixtus, Wayne Langford.

There was one nomination received in each of the other eight wards, so no election is required. 

The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made in conjunction with the results of the elections at the annual meeting.

The councillors-elect are:

Ward 2 Central Northland Penny Smart; Ward 5 Hauraki / Coromandel  Julie Pirie; Ward 8 Matamata Grant Wills; Ward 11 Te Awamutu Kevin Ferris; Ward 20 Egmont Plains Rob Poole; Ward 29 Ashburton Charles Whitehead; Ward 32 Otago Ad Bekkers; Ward 35 Western Southland Vaughan Templeton.

All eight councillors-elect are incumbents who have been elected unopposed.

All successful candidates take office at the close of the 2015 Fonterra Annual Meeting on Wednesday, November 25, 2015.

The returning officer, Warwick Lampp, also confirmed there will not be an election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders David Gasquoine and Stephen Silcock have been elected unopposed.

Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Friday, October 30 2015.  Shareholders can vote by internet, fax or post, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.

The voting period in the Fonterra elections is from Friday, October 30 until 10.30am on Monday, November 23, 2015 with the results being announced later that day.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

We're not running a poll right now. Check back soon!